Thanks; that looks like a textbook case of simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver: TD.
Joel Send a noteboard - 25/09/2012 07:29:28 AM
not a great link as the refresh rate is low and only a very brief slow motion replay.
notice that Jennings gets the ball first, then presses it against his chest. Only then does Tate put his hands around it.
The other link not working has less to do with ESPN's decision and more with distribution rights in other countries.
notice that Jennings gets the ball first, then presses it against his chest. Only then does Tate put his hands around it.
The other link not working has less to do with ESPN's decision and more with distribution rights in other countries.
Tate had his hands on it before it ever got near Jennings' body; I cannot tell from the Youtube video who got it first, but it would be impossible to say there is conclusive video evidence to overturn the TD ruling on the field. And had I been on the field I would have made precisely the same call: By rule, simultaneous possession goes to the receiver; TD Seahawks.
Now, that does not speak to any offensive pass interference BEFORE the catch, which obviously would negate the catch and end the game, but I could not see that from the Youtube clip, because all the video before the catch is of Wilson and the line. It also does not cover any other bad non/calls (and the ESPN author seemed to feel there were many on both sides, though in terms of the games outcome that may amount to the old "blow one down there, blow one down here" ref mantra.) The ruling on the catch itself looked like a very difficult but 100% correct call though, both in the initial ruling and its confirmation by replay.
The NY Daily News article on it quotes Pete Carroll saying the same thing I (and, evidently, the refs) thought, and invoking the baseball rule of which the NFL rule always reminds me: “From what I understood from the officials it was a simultaneous catch. Tie goes to the runner. Good call,” Seattle coach Pete Carroll said.
Now, maybe this is a situation like the Tuck Rule and the like, but as much as people may want to complain about the call, any complaints should be directed to the Competition Committee who made the rule, not the refs who correctly applied it.
Honorbound and honored to be Bonded to Mahtaliel Sedai
Last First in wotmania Chat
Slightly better than chocolate.
Love still can't be coerced.
Please Don't Eat the Newbies!
LoL. Be well, RAFOlk.
Last First in wotmania Chat
Slightly better than chocolate.
Love still can't be coerced.
Please Don't Eat the Newbies!

LoL. Be well, RAFOlk.
This message last edited by Joel on 25/09/2012 at 07:32:18 AM
/NFL: now that replacement refs have cost the packers a win, can we please get the real ones back? *NM*
- 25/09/2012 05:14:58 AM
713 Views
Link? Clip?
- 25/09/2012 05:27:07 AM
764 Views
Let's just say that Gruden used the word "Jobbed" in the live telecast. *NM*
- 25/09/2012 05:35:08 AM
487 Views
Here's a link.
- 25/09/2012 05:36:56 AM
866 Views
Yes and no; that is the link I referenced in my post.
- 25/09/2012 05:47:07 AM
682 Views
youtube link
- 25/09/2012 07:00:29 AM
891 Views
Thanks; that looks like a textbook case of simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver: TD.
- 25/09/2012 07:29:28 AM
769 Views
pete carroll is a cheating douchebag, you cannot take his word for what happened
- 25/09/2012 10:59:33 AM
1030 Views
I did not; I watched the clip: Simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver.
- 26/09/2012 01:30:18 AM
1371 Views
watch a better replay if you can
- 26/09/2012 02:38:17 AM
829 Views
Have now; still not convinced.
- 26/09/2012 04:01:23 AM
873 Views
also, the pass interference on tate that wasn't called is clear at 0:56 in that clip
- 25/09/2012 11:27:36 AM
850 Views
Tate was looking for the ball, and raised his hands to catch it, not push off Sam Shields.
- 26/09/2012 01:33:46 AM
794 Views
watch a better replay and get back to me on this one.
- 26/09/2012 02:36:43 AM
839 Views
Where did the NFL head office acknowledge that?
- 26/09/2012 03:52:36 AM
930 Views
in their official response to the whole incident....?
- 26/09/2012 04:14:52 AM
1064 Views
Fair enough then; the NFLs official position is that offensive PI should have been called.
- 26/09/2012 04:45:58 AM
859 Views
Yeah, if one hand counts as possession
- 25/09/2012 05:15:37 PM
851 Views
Left hand between Jennings' arms and on the ball; right was outside Jennings' arm and on the ball.
- 26/09/2012 01:38:28 AM
786 Views
How have you not seen this play? Are you in a cave? *NM*
- 25/09/2012 03:57:55 PM
403 Views
No, I am in Norway, where NFL coverage is rather limited.
- 26/09/2012 01:40:07 AM
977 Views
While you can hardly blame the replacement refs because they are basically trainees...
- 25/09/2012 06:05:22 AM
948 Views
Now I really want to see this play.
- 25/09/2012 06:27:42 AM
964 Views
Re: Now I really want to see this play.
- 25/09/2012 02:48:56 PM
863 Views
I have still only seen the YouTube clip, but it looked like they both had both hands on the ball.
- 26/09/2012 01:58:27 AM
787 Views
You might appreciate learning that the Lingerie Football League fired some of these refs
- 25/09/2012 07:19:37 AM
865 Views
Tie goes to the receiver - the rule for decades. The Packers benefitted from worse calls last year
- 25/09/2012 11:31:47 AM
883 Views
you probably think greedo shot first too.....
- 25/09/2012 01:49:03 PM
828 Views
Possession doesn't mean squat until you land. Tate had it by then
- 25/09/2012 03:13:29 PM
833 Views
he had nothing until they landed and he tried to pull it away. everyone but you agrees on this *NM*
- 25/09/2012 03:25:43 PM
393 Views
Not so; Cannoli and I agree on pretty much every point involved in this play.
- 26/09/2012 02:17:01 AM
804 Views
They can't reverse that call.
- 25/09/2012 04:43:28 PM
916 Views
the only possible way was to rule it incomplete
- 25/09/2012 10:42:25 PM
896 Views
It was very obviously caught; you can't rule that incomplete.
- 25/09/2012 11:06:17 PM
803 Views
my philosophy is "interception = incomplete" but i think that's only for stats purposes
- 26/09/2012 12:32:43 AM
776 Views
Congrats Cannoli, you are the only person (thing?) in the country who thinks it's a TD *NM*
- 25/09/2012 03:53:18 PM
529 Views
I'm not even the only person in this thread, moron. *NM*
- 25/09/2012 04:07:48 PM
436 Views
Joel hasn't even seen the play, douchebag *NM*
- 25/09/2012 04:12:35 PM
400 Views
I have seen enough of it, and while I did not write Cannolis response, I easily could have.
- 26/09/2012 02:06:45 AM
829 Views
Slightly (very) loopy yet entertaining piece on why Ayn Rand is to blame for all of this.
- 25/09/2012 05:38:12 PM
767 Views
She hates revenue sharing, salary caps & the draft, too, but the Pack would be screwed without each.
- 26/09/2012 03:34:00 AM
799 Views
Here's the proof Cannoli is refusing to see
- 25/09/2012 05:54:07 PM
893 Views
Clearer shot, but stills do not allow us to see where Tates hands were at all times.
- 26/09/2012 02:10:25 AM
698 Views
you can't claim "good ol' strip" *AND* simultaneous catch -- which is it?
- 26/09/2012 02:35:41 AM
1130 Views
I do not claim both: I claim simultaneous catch but IF not, then strip.
- 26/09/2012 03:51:47 AM
1130 Views
you sure you saw the right replay?
- 26/09/2012 04:21:57 AM
806 Views
Think so, yeah.
- 26/09/2012 04:58:15 AM
968 Views
from another angle -- pun intended
- 26/09/2012 04:01:54 PM
804 Views
There are two separate issues: 1) Was it a simultaneous catch; 2) IF not, was it a strip?
- 27/09/2012 08:54:52 AM
994 Views
your opinion is against pretty much everyone in the world, so..... *shrug*
- 27/09/2012 03:55:33 PM
1032 Views
Thanks; I did not expect you to give in so easily.
- 27/09/2012 10:14:30 PM
846 Views
did you even read that article???
- 28/09/2012 12:35:39 AM
846 Views
"his control wasn’t established again...."
- 28/09/2012 01:08:03 AM
1240 Views
wow, what a thorough analysis you sent me
either way, you're still wrong
- 28/09/2012 02:05:24 AM
949 Views
either way, you're still wrong
- 28/09/2012 02:05:24 AM
949 Views
Worst calls are made all the time by the regular officials.
- 26/09/2012 01:23:57 AM
810 Views
yes, but not usually more than one per game, certainly not several in a single weekend.... *NM*
- 26/09/2012 02:39:56 AM
408 Views

*MN*